ON THE SHELF: ‘Timeless Desire’ by Gwyn Cready

I was never so grateful to own an e-reader as I was yesterday.
Wanting to check out a sore throat that has been plaguing me for a couple of weeks, I made the dreaded mistake of visiting the walk-in clinic in my neighbourhood. (My regular doctor is sunning herself in the Bahamas, lucky girl!) The waiting room was full of masked coughers, snifflers and wheezers so I was told it would be awhile. (I am positive that the receptionist had no idea that the ‘little while’ would turn into 2 ½ hours!) Like anyone else who found themselves in a waiting room full of people lined up before her, I found a seat, made myself comfortable, pulled out my trusty e-reader and started to scroll for something to catch my eye. Having received Timeless Desire: An Outlander Love Story awhile back from the lovely people at Blue Dot Literary, I had filed it away to be read over the holidays but I figured this was as good a time as any to dig into it!
 While I am not a usual reader of romance novels, this tender romance with a ton of action kept it from being just another sappy love story and literally kept me on the edge of my seat (quite frankly the only action I saw while wasting away over three hours in that doctor’s office!).
Exciting escapades, time travel into history and a touch of comic wit are a few of the captivating  elements you will find in author Gwyn Cready’s book, Timeless Desire: An Outlander Love Story
which centers around main character Panna Kennedy, a modern day librarian and recent widow. Budget cuts at the Pennsylvanian library put her on a quest to unearth extra funds in any way she can so she begins the hunt for old items in the library storage areas to be hocked for cash. The intro begins to pick up speed when she uncovers an odd little room at the library that she had never come across before. Pulled away momentarily from exploring the room, she returns later to discover that it happens to be a portal to the 18th century and a thrilling romantic adventure she could never had imagined! Not the odds and ends she was looking for to sell but a fortune that takes the lonely widow on an adventure she emotionally craved! Once on the other side of the magical portal, she meets Colonel John Bridgewater, a founder of the very library Panna works for, and here is where the story blooms into late night rendezvous and perilous missions.
Needless to say, the 2 1/2 hours I spent waiting to see the doctor did whiz by with the help of Panna, Colonel Bridgewater and their dangerous adventures since my mind had been transported somewhere less virus-infested but don’t wait to be stuck in a congested waiting room to pick this one up, hop on over to Amazon or Barnes & Noble and treat your e-reader to a little romance over the holidays!

