At The Table: Prosciutto Salad Rolls

When I find myself in a pinch for something easy and delicious to serve to unexpected guests (like I am today after I received a call this afternoon from friends who told me they are popping by later for a visit!), I like to make sure that whatever I whip up (even in a hurry) has a dash of my signature style. Your guests never need to feel that their visit is anything but welcomed which happens to be the key of any good host (even if they did happen to squash your intellectually stimulating plans of keeping up with the Kardashians and trimming your cuticles this evening and no, I didn’t have anything that ‘pressing’ on my agenda!)
Even the simplest of dishes can have that WOW factor we all want to see in our guest eyes. In the same amount of time it will take you to heat up some bland looking frozen appetizers, you can make your menu a touch more fabulous by choosing to serve something as visually appealing and delightfully tasty as these Prosciutto Salad Rolls (via one of my favorite sites for simple foodie inspiration, The Hot Plate) which will take you all about 30 minutes to prep and put together. They can be made up to a couple hours ahead of time and popped into the fridge, waiting for you to finish them with dressing right before they are served.
Prosciutto Salad Rolls
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
4 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1 teaspoon orange zest
1 tablespoon finely chopped chives
8 slices prosciutto (San Danielle is the name brand I prefer to use)
16 green beans, blanched
2 cups mixed greens or baby arugula
1/4 cup shaved Parmesan cheese
salt and pepper
Begin by blanching the green beans. (there is a clever little clip on the perfect way to blanch your green beans right courtesy of The Hot Plate right here!)
Lay each piece of the prosciutto flat in a single layer. Add equal portions of the green beans and Parmesan cheese to the middle of the prosciutto. On top of that, do the same with equal portions of the greens.
Roll the prosciutto over the greens and beans.
Divide the prosciutto rolls between four plates.
Make the dressing by combining the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, lemon zest, orange zest, chives and a little salt and pepper in a bowl or jar and mix. (I prefer to use a mason jar with a lid, seems to get all the flavors nicely incorporated and I find it easier to drizzle straight from the jar)
When you are ready to serve, drizzle the dressing over the rolls.

recipe and image via The Hot Plate
Fortnum and Mason

