The Cocktail Hour: the Jack Rose

It seems the funny ways of modern technology have made a liar of me this week. Just when I thought I had rid myself of a computer virus that has made a mess of my laptop (and my little old blog!), it seems to still be lurking in computer crevices that I didn’t even know existed rendering it useless for yet another day.
Not that I don’t appreciate the kindness of my daughter for letting me use hers but I just can’t seem to get into any serious writing when I find myself hammering away at a tiny hot pink computer with ‘Hello Kitty’ and ‘Monster High’ stickers all over it.
Ughh!
If anyone ever needed a spirited cocktail well before the designated witching hour, it is me this afternoon! Since nothing else has really gone my way today, I figure I can indulge in a favorite of mine, the ‘Jack Rose’. While this tart beverage is a lesser known member of the ‘sour’ family, adding a little more grenadine can sweeten it up for anyone who is so inclined.
A cocktail this color always has a way to make me smile, so take that you pesky Trojan!!

Jack Rose
2 oz apple brandy or applejack
3/4 oz fresh lemon juice
3/4 oz grenadine
1 lemon twist

Combine applejack or brandy, lemon juice and grenadine in cocktail shaker loaded with cracked ice.
Shake vigorously and pour into a chilled glass.
Garnish and serve straight up.

